Skip to content
April 7, 2008 / japanland

The Avett Brothers

I went and saw the Avett Brothers play last week at the House of Blues in Anaheim. And I’m so glad we did! It was a busy week and we almost didn’t make it, but last minute we decided to take the night off and it was definitely worth it.

I had been listening to them for awhile and I thought they were good, but I didn’t really get it until I saw them play live. They were just amazing performers who have a lot of emotion behind their songs.

They opened up the show with Weight of Lies which got the show started off right. And I think my favorite song of the night was when they played Shame. It’s too bad the crowd wasn’t more hyped. I couldn’t help but catch the excitement the Avett Brothers were extruding in their performance, but there were some of “those people” at the bar that were just had to have their input about the show they obviously didn’t come to see.

One other thing I noticed an appreciated was their giant backdrop print of the image from the cd cover was printed in a pattern with 3 or four of them that had been slightly altered to have the bird being show with an arrow.

Emotionalism album cover

For their encore song they played a new one that I am assuming is called Heartbeat or something along those lines. It seemed to go over the line on the cute/pop scale. Nonetheless I will be looking forward to their next album and studying every song for the sing-a-long next time I see them live.

The Avett Brothers

Also, check out the bands that opened:
Steeplejacks (two guys use to be in Social D. I wonder if they are the ones who own the Pike“?)
Jessica Lee Mayfield

Leave a Reply

